Leading the discussions on the transformation of NEAP (from left to right): Task Force members DepEd BHROD Director Ms. Ma. Lourdes Pantoja; NEAP Director Mr. John Arnold Siena; and Usec. Nepomuceno Malaluan.

Through its implementing partner, the National Research Center for Teacher Quality (RCTQ), BEST Program is supporting the creation of a task force that will transform the National Educators Academy of the Philippines (NEAP) into a DepEd-attached agency that has high level and visionary leadership, has the ability to effectively provide teachers’ professional learning and development (L&D) needs, and one that lives up to its name as an ‘Academy’.

An inception meeting was held on 18 October 2018 in Pasig City among the 22 members of the newly-formed NEAP Transformation Task Force led by DepEd Undersecretary Nepomuceno Malaluan with heads of NEAP, Teacher Education Council and various DepEd bureaus; representatives from various DepEd governance levels; and a technical team from RCTQ team as members. It was attended by Australian Embassy First Secretary Ms. Francesca Lawe-Davies.

Members of the NEAP Transformation Task Force led by Usec. Nepomuceno Malaluan (seated, 4th from left) with Australian Embassy First Secretary Francesca Lawe-Davies (seated, 2nd to the right).

The task force will be preparing a detailed design of the core program of the proposed transformed NEAP. Their work will be supported by a secretariat from NEAP, RCTQ and the Bureau of Human Resource and Organizational Development (BHROD).